heart of light

Today is National Poetry Day. Here are two passages, the first from The Waste Land, and the second from Four Quartets:

“You gave me hyacinths first a year ago;

“They called me the hyacinth girl.”

-Yet when we came back, late, from the hyacinth garden,

Your arms full, and your hair wet, I could not

Speak, and my eyes failed, I was neither

Living nor dead, and I knew nothing,

Looking into the heart of light, the silence.

Dry the pool, dry concrete, brown edged,

And the pool was filled with water out of sunlight,

And the lotos rose, quietly, quietly,

The surface glittered out of heart of light,

And they were behind us, reflected in the pool,

Then a cloud passed, and the pool was empty.

Leave a Reply

